Mr. Anantanarayanan Sanatkumar

Distinguished Scientist and Senior Executive Director (Retired), Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd. (Department of Atomic Energy)

Areas of Interest:

Nuclear Engineering, Mechanical Engineering


Design of On-power Fuel Handling Systems for PHWRs

Consultancy Areas:

Nuclear Engineering, Mechanical Engineering


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies), Consultancy Firms, Individuals

Major Professional Contributions:

Successful Indigenous development of capabilities for design, and manufacture of components and equipment for remotely operated automatic on-power refuelling systems comprising of multi-disciplinary subsystems for indigenous PHWRs, the last being the 540 MWe Units at Tarapur 3 & 4. My work was mainly carried out at a time when our country was facing severe technology denial regime imposed by developed countries.

Professional Experience:

  • 38 years in Department of Atomic Energy, in various capacities including Chief Engineer, Director Engineering, Executive Director Projects, and Senior Executive Director (Operations and Technical Training).
  • Associated with all PHWRs constructed in India between 1963 and 2001.


Make-In-India, Indigenisation, Nuclear Engineering, Fuel Handling Systems for Nuclear Reactors


Contact Information


A. Sanatkumar
Flat C-4, Building 25, Kendriya Vihar CHS,
Sector 36, Nerul, Navi Mumbai, 400706

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • BE Hons (Mechanical).
  • Master of Engineering (Nuclear Engineering).


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Homi Bhabha Gold Medal (BARC Training School, 1963).
  • The Institution of Engineers (India), Mechanical Engineering Design Award (2000).
  • NPCIL Group Achievement Award (2007).
  • Homi Bhabha Lifetime Achievement Award of Indian Nuclear Society (2007).

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated To: Section IX: Energy Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2000

Year of Birth: 1941