Professor Debatosh Guha

HAL Chair Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

Areas of Interest:

Antenna Engineering, Microwave Engineering, Applied Electromagnetics.


microstrip antenna, printed antenna techniques, wireless antenna, Dielectric Resonator Antenna (DRA), Ultrawideband antenna.

Consultancy Areas:

microstrip antenna, wireless antenna, Ultrawideband DRA.


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies)

Major Professional Contributions:

Introduced a new design technique for microstrip antennas using defected ground structure (DGS); Developed a novel high gain antenna for wireless industry (commercialized in 2006); Explored known modes in composite DRA structures to realize broadband compact antennas; Introduced a new radiating mode for cylindrical DRA along with new concepts of feeding technique.

Professional Experience:

  • Chairman of IEEE Kolkata Section with geographical jurisdiction covering 12 Indian States and Union Territories (2013-2014)
  • General Co-Chair: International Workshop on Antenna Innovations and Modern Technologies (iAIM) Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India, 26-27 December, 2015
  • Asia Liaison in the 8th EUCAP, Hague, The Netherlands (2014)
  • General Chair: IEEE CALCON, Kolkata, India (2014)
  • International Program Committee, ACME, Bologna, Italy, (2014)
  • Technical Program Committee, iWAT, Sydney, Australia (2014)
  • Founding Chair: IEEE AP/MTT Kolkata Chapter (2004) & Chair (2010-2011).
  • Founding Chair: IEEE Applied Electromagnetics Conference (AEMC), Kolkata, India (2007)
  • Founding Chair: IEEE Indian Antenna Week, Puri, India (2010)
  • General Chair: 2nd edition of AEMC, Kolkata (2009) and 3rd edition of AEMC, Kolkata (2011)
  • General Chair: 2nd edition of IEEE IAW, Kolkata, India (2011)
  • International Organizing Committee, IEEE MTT-S IMaRC, New Delhi, India (2013)
  • Technical Program Committee, 34th PIERS, Stockholm, Sweden (2013)
  • International Program Committee, ACME, Helsinki, Finland (2013)
  • International Advisory Committee, URSI- EMTS, Hiroshima, Japan (2013)
  • International Advisory Committee, Asia Pacific Conf. Antennas & Propagation, Singapore (2012).


microstrip antenna, printed antenna Dielectric Resonator Antenna, Ultrawideband antenna..


Contact Information


Electronics & Electrical Communication Engineering
IIT Kharagpur 721302, India
Phone: (+91) 3222 283522
Mobile: (+91) 9231353055
(+91) 8697571084
email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B. Tech. (Radio Physics and Electronics) 1987 (University of Calcutta)
  • M. Tech. (Radio Physics and Electronics) 1989 (University of Calcutta)
  • Ph. D. (Radio Physics and Electronics) 1994 (University of Calcutta)


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE).
  • Fellow, Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (FIETE)
  • RMTG Senior Researcher Award, IEEE AP-S, Chicago, 2012.
  • URSI Young Scientist Award, Lille, Franc, 1996
  • Best Paper Award, IEEE Student Paper Contest, New Delhi, 1992.
  • University Gold Medal in M. Tech. Examination, 1989.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund Prize, 1984.

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated To : Section VI: Electronics and Communication Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2012

Year of Birth: 1963