Professor Gopakumar Kumarakuttan Nair

Professor,Department of Electronic Systems Engineering-DESE (Formerly CEDT), , Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Areas of Interest:

Power Electronics, Motor drives, PWM techniques, Multilevel inverters.


Power Converters; Multi Level Inverters for motor drives

Consultancy Areas:



Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies)

Major Professional Contributions:

Prof. K. Gopakumar has made extensive and original contributions to field of power electronics. The work carried out by him in area of converter configurations and pulse width modulation techniques for high power induction motor drives is a notable advancement in the state of the art. The depth and originality of his work is attested by the numerous publications in refereed international journals. He has developed graduate courses in area of drives and set up excellent laboratory facilities in the Centre for Electronics Technology at IISc. He has been active in development of hardware such as converters and DSP controllers..

Professional Experience:

  • Professor, 2007 onwards
  • Associate Professor, 2003 to 2007
  • Assistant Professor, 1997 to 2003
  • Senior Scientific officer, 1993 to 1997
  • Scientific Officer, 1987 to 1993


Power Converters; Multi Level Inverters for motor drives.


Contact Information


Department of Electronic Systems Engineering-DESE (Formerly CEDT), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore-560 012
Phone: 080-22933089, 22932246
Mobile: 09448227853
Fax: 080-22932290

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B.E., Electrical Engineering, 1980, Indian Institute of Science
  • M.Sc.(Engg)., Electrical Engineering, 1984, Indian Institute of Science
  • PhD., Electrical Engineering, 1994, Indian Institute of Science


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Fellow IEEE
  • Fellow IETE (India)
  • Fellow Indian National academy of Engineers (FNAE)
  • Co Editor-in-Chief IEEE Trans. On Industrial Electronics.
  • IETE (India)- B.K Bose award for contributions to the area of power electronics and drives for high power applications
  • Distinguished Lecturer-IEEE Industrial Electronics Society
  • IISc Alumni award for Excellence in Research in Engineering-2016
  • ABB Chair professor 2016 -2018

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated V: Electrical Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2009

Year of Birth: 1956