Professor Indranil Manna

Director and Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur)

Areas of Interest:

Design and development of engineering materials, Laser or plasma assisted surface engineering, Nanostructured materials, Oxide dispersion strengthened steels, Bainitic steel, Microstructural characterization, Thermodynamic modeling, Heat treatment, Failure analysis, Solid-state amorphization, Phase transformation in solids, Sensors, Nano fluid, Mechanical alloying, Composites.


Materials Engineering (Physical metallurgy; Phase transformation; Laser/plasma assisted surface engineering; Bainitic steel; Nanofluid; Sensors; Microstructure-property-process parameter correlation)

Consultancy Areas:

Will be added

Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies), Entrepreneurs, Consultancy Firms, Private Agencies

Major Professional Contributions:

Professor Manna is a renowned academician and materials engineer with wide ranging research interests concerning microstructure-property correlation in nanometric and amorphous solids, laser/plasma assisted surface engineered components, bainitic and ODS steel and nano-fluid. His earlier research concerning discontinuous precipitation/coarsening is considered seminal. Before moving to IIT Kanpur, he headed CSIR-CGCRI in Kolkata (2010-2012) and taught subjects related to Physical Metallurgy at IIT Kharagpur for 25 years (1985-2010). He worked as a guest scientist in different renowned Institutions in Germany, USA, Poland, France, Singapore and UK. Prof Manna has over 250 journal publications, supervised 20 PhD theses and received several awards.

Professional Experience:

  • Director, IIT Kanpur (Since Nov 7, 2012)
  • Vice President and Chairman of Metal Science Division, Indian Institute of Metals
  • Vice President, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) (Fellowship, Awards & Corporate Communication)
  • Director, CSIR-Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute (CSIR-CGCRI), Kolkata (2010-October 31, 2012)
  • HAG Professor (2007-present), Professor (2003-present), Associate Professor (1997-2003), Assistant Professor (1990-1997), Lecturer (1985-1990) at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Kharagpur


Physical metallurgy, Phase transformation, Laser/plasma assisted surface engineering, Laser assisted direct manufacturing, Bainitic steel, Nanofluid; Sensors; Microstructure-property-process parameter correlation, Engineering education, Materials design and development, Steel, Amorphous alloy.


Contact Information:


Director, Indian Institute of Technology
Kanpur [IIT Kanpur],
Kanpur 208016, U.P., India
Phone: +91 512 2597220 (office); +91 512 2598333 (home)
Fax: +91 512 259 0260
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Bachelor of Engineering (BE), University of Calcutta (Bengal Engineering College, Shibpur), W.B., India (1983)
  • Master of Technology (MTech), IIT Kanpur , U.P., India (1984)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), IIT Kharagpur, W.B., India (1990)
  • Premchand Roychand Scholarship (PRS), University of Calcutta, India (post doctoral award) (1998)

Awards and Major Professional Recognitions:

  • TWAS Prize in Engineering Sciences, The World Academy of Sciences, 2014
  • J C Bose Fellowship of Department of Science & Technology, India (2012-2017).
  • Fellow of all National Academies in India: INAE-FNAE (2005), NASI-FNASc (2005), IASc-FASc (2008), INSA-FNA (2010)
  • INAE Visvesvarya Chair Professor (2009-2011) and INAE-AICTE Distinguished Industry Chair Professor (2007-2009) Awarded by the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), New Delhi
  • Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship (2001-2002 and DAAD Fellowship (1988-1990), Germany (for independent research)

Link to Website:

INAE Section Affiliated To:

  • Will be added

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2005

Year of Birth: 1961