Dr KG Narayanan

Independent Technology Adviser, None

Areas of Interest:

R&D and public policy in S&T, Education and dissemination of science.


Aeronautical systems, Avionics and Flight Controls, UAVs, microwave engineering, solar energy

Consultancy Areas:

Aeronautical systems, Avionics, UAVs, Renewable energy, Science Education .


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), R&D Organizations

Major Professional Contributions:

R&D and leadership in major aeronautical programmes of DRDO in fighter aircraft and UAVs.
Helped Indian industries in establishing indigenous design capabilities in avionic systems
Establishedi a research centre devoted to solar photovoltaics and solar thermal energy devices
Assist NGO devoted to strengthening science education among rural schools..

Professional Experience:

  • DRDO - Director ADE & DARE, Bangalore ; Chief Adviser, DRDO , New Delhi
  • Emeritus Professor, IIT, Kharagpur
  • Director, SSN Research Centre, Chennai
  • Technology Adviser, several Indian industries
  • Adviser, Agastya International a Foundation.


Aeronautics, Avionics, Flight Controls, Electronic Warfare, Unmanned Air Systems, Microwave technology, Renewable Energy, Solar power. .


Contact Information


Dr. KG Narayanan, 903, 2nd K cross, Kalyan Nagar 1st block, Bangalore - 560043
Phones : 080.25422162, 9886428443 (mobile)

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B Sc. , Physics major, Madras University, 1960
  • B Tech. (Hons.), Electronics & Elec. Comm. Engg., IIT, Kharagpur, 1964
  • Ph.D, Microwave Engineering, IISc., Bangalore, 1984


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, II.t , Kharagpur
  • DS Kothari award of Indian Science Congress
  • Om Prakash Bhasin award for S&T
  • Systems Society of India gold medal
  • Several DRDO awards 6. FNAE, FIETE, FAero Soc.

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated VII: Aerospace Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 1995

Year of Birth: 1942