Dr. Perumal Chellapandi

Distinguished Scientist and Chairman & Managing Director , Bharatiya Nabhikiya Vidyut Nigam Limited (BHAVINI)

Areas of Interest:

Mechanical Design and Development, Seismic Qualification, Thermos Dynamics and Structural Mechanics.


Specialized in reactor design, thermal hydraulics, structural mechanics, safety analysis and experimental simulations
Design and safety engineering aspects of fast reactor components for the sodium cooled fast reactors and technology development of reactor assembly components

Consultancy Areas:

Detailed analysis, seismic qualification of nuclear steam supply system components and thermo-mechanical consequences of severe accidents.


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies), Consultancy Firms

Major Professional Contributions:

Involved in the design and development of 500 MWe Prototyp Fast Breeder Reactor (PFBR) since its inception which will be commissioned shortly. Contributed significantly for the PFBR over a wide spectrum of design, analysis and research activities involving academic and R&D institutions in the country. Current responsibility is focus on the design and construction of FBR 1&2 beyond PFBR with innovative concepts for the commercial exploitation.

Professional Experience:

  • Associate Director, Nuclear Engineering Group, IGCAR
  • Director, Safety Group, IGCAR
  • Director, Nuclear & Safety Engineering Group, IGCAR
  • Director, Reactor Design Group, IGCAR
  • Chairman and Managing Director, BHAVINI.


Design & Development, Safety analysis, Seismic analysis, Thermo Hydraulics, Technology, Design review, project management.


Contact Information


Office :
Bharatiya Nabhikiya Vidyut Nigam Limited (BHAVINI)
Kalpakkam - 603102
Pho : Off : 044-27480064;
Fax : 044-27480116
Res : 044-27484578

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B.E (Hons) – Mech. Engg. – First Rank, 1978, Madras University
  • Orientation Course in Nuclear Engineering – First Rank, 1979, BARC Training School
  • M.Tech- Engineering Mechanics Gold Medalist with GPA – 10, 1983, IIT Madras
  • Ph.D – Applied Mechanics, 1995, IIT Madras


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award of IITM, 2010
  • VASVIK Award – 2009
  • National Design Award, Institution of Engineers – 2013
  • National Design Award in Mechanical Engineering, Institution of Engineers, 2006
  • Indian Nuclear Science award, INS, 2005
  • Homi Bhabha Science and Technology Award, 1997
  • Academic Distinction Award for First Rank with GPA 10 in MTech at IIT Madras, 1983
  • Government Prize for the First Rank in BE (Hons), 1978
  • Homi Bhabha Prize for the First Rank in BARC Training School, 1979

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated To : Section III: Mechanical Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2001

Year of Birth: 1956