Dr Rangarajan Muralidharan

Emeritus Professor, Centre for Nanoscience and Engineering (CENSE), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Areas of Interest:

Semiconductor materials and devices
Modelling and simulation of devices
Gallium nitride and gallium arsenide based electronic and opto electronic devices
Gallium Oxide based devices


Semiconductor Material and Device Technology
III-V materials and devices

Consultancy Areas:



Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies), Entrepreneurs, Venture Capitalists, Law Enforcement Agencies, Consultancy Firms, Private Agencies, Individuals

Major Professional Contributions:

Dr. R. Muralidharan is a leading semiconductor material and device technologist. He has successfully developed the technology for epitaxial growth of InGaAs based pseudomorphic HEMT and has led team which has developed the technology for high electron mobility transistor fabrication. He has developed and delivered various MMIC chipsets for different satellites launched by ISRO. He has also delivered transmitter for Radio sonde for collection of weather data for use in balloons flown byIndian Meteorological department. As CEO, GAETEC he has delivered nearly 5000 MMIC chipset for assembly of T/R module for Synthetic Aperture Radar of Space application Centre, ISRO..

Professional Experience:

  • Chief Executive Officer , Gallium Arsenide Technology Enabling Centre, Hyderabad
  • Director, Solid State Physics Laboratory, DRDO, Govt of India, Delhi
  • Emeritus Professor, Center for nano science and engineering, IISc, Bangalore




Contact Information


Centre for Nanoscience and Engineering (CENSE),
Indian Institute of Science,
Bangalore-560 012

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B.Sc., Physics, 1973, University of Madras
  • M.Sc., Physics, 1975, University of Madras
  • Ph.D., Physics, 1985, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • ICSI prize-Superconductivity & Materials Science, MRSI, 2012
  • Scientist of the year, DRDO, 2010
  • Materials Scientist Medal,MRSI, 1989
  • Fellow INAE

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated VI: Electronics and Communication Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2016

Year of Birth: 1953