Dr. Sanak Mishra

Secretary General & Executive Head, Indian Steel Association

Areas of Interest:

Materials Science; Metals Technology; Manufacturing; Corporate Social Responsibility; Evolution of Knowledge.


Magnetic Materials; Production, Processing and Applications of Steel; Corporate Strategy

Consultancy Areas:

Will be added

Sector Associated With:



Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies)

Major Professional Contributions:

Discovery of Magnetic Clusters in Dilute Alloy Systems; Discovery of Texture Memory Effect in Grain Oriented Steels; Continuous Casting of Phosphorous-bearing Steels; Theory of Strain Hardening in High Strength Low Alloy Steels; Turnaround and Transformation of Rourkela Steel Plant

Professional Experience:

  • Secretary General & Executive Head, Indian Steel Association; from September 1, 2014.
  • Vice President of ArcelorMittal Global Group and CEO India Projects; January 2006-July 2013.
  • Managing Director, Rourkela Steel Plant and Director SAIL Board; August 2002-December 2005.
  • Executive Director In-Charge; Corporate Planning Directorate,; SAIL; February 1998- May 2001.
  • Executive Director, RDCIS, SAIL, Ranchi; July 1996-February 1998


Steels, Crystallographic Textures, Low Temperature Magnetism


Contact Information:


Flat 341, Green Heavens,SAIL-CGHS, Plot 35, Sector 4, Dwarka, New Delhi 110078, India

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • BSc Honours (Physics), 1965; Ravenshaw College; Cuttack; Utkal University.
  • BE (Metallurgy); 1968; Indian Institute of Science; Bangalore
  • MS (Metallurgical Engineering); 1970; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; USA
  • PhD (metallurgical Engineering); 1973, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; USA

Awards & Major Professional Recognitions:

  • Distinguished Merit Alumni Award; Department of Materials Science & Engineering; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA; 2010
  • Centenary Year Distinguished Alumni Award; Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; 2008.
  • National Metallurgist Award, Ministry of Steel, Govt. of India; 2003
  • JRD Tata Award for Excellence in Corporate Leadership; 2012.
  • Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship; Germany; 1980


Link to Website:

INAE Section Affiliated To:

  • Will be added

Year of Election to Fellowship: 1997

Year of Birth: