Professor Sanjay Mittal

Professor, IIT Kanpur

Areas of Interest:

Aerospace Engineering, Low Speed Wind Tunnel Testing, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Finite Element Methods, High Performace Computing, Unsteady Aerodynamics, Linear Stability Analysis, Transition to Turbulence, Vortex Induced Vibrations, Aerodynamic Shape Optimization, Traffic Modeling, Aerodynamics of Parachutes, Sports Aerodynamics, Badminton Shuttles, Cricket Ball, Fluid-Structure Interactions


Aerospace Engineering, Fluid Mechanics

Consultancy Areas:

CFD, Wind Tunnel Testing, Fluid-Structure Interactions, Sports Aerodynamics.


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:

Educational / Academic institutions, Industry (Private), Industry (PSUs), R&D Organizations, Government (including funding agencies), Entrepreneurs

Major Professional Contributions:

Understaning Vortex Induced Vibrations, Algorithms for Shape Optimization and its applications to generating high performance wings/airfoils, Algorithms for Fluid-Structure interactions and applications, Parallel Computing, Wind Tunnel Testing.

Professional Experience:

  • Professor, IIT Kanpur since 1994.


CFD, Wind Tunnel Testing, Unsteady Aerodynamics, Finite Element Analysis, Fluid-Structure Interactions, Traffic Modeling, Shape Optimization, Sports Aerodynamics, Bluff Body Flows.


Contact Information


Aerospace Engineering, IIT Kanpur, UP 208016.
Tel.: +91 512 2597906 (O)
Tel.: +91 512 2598702 (R)

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B.Tech. in Aeronautical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, June 1988.
  • M.S. in Aerospace Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA, December 1990
  • Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA, October 1992


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Fellow of INAE, INSA, NASI, IAS
  • SS Bhatnagar Prize in Engg. Sc. 2006
  • JC Bose Fellow, 2013
  • Swarnajayanti Fellowship, DST, 2003

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated VII: Aerospace Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2006

Year of Birth: 1968