Dr. Srikanth Srinivasan

Director, CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur

Areas of Interest:

Thermodynamics & Kinetic Modelling & Measurements of Metallurgical Processes, Extraction of Metals from Lean and Complex Ores, Mechano-Chemical Activation of Minerals, Intermediate Temperature Solid Oxide Fuel Cells, Failure Analysis of Engineering Components, High Temperature Corrosion, Life Cycle Assessment, Integrated Computational Materials Engineering

Laboratory Management: Business Dev., HRD, Systems Development, Project Management, Mentoring


Thermodymanics of Materials, Extractive Metallurgy, Metallurgical Failure Analysis

Consultancy Areas:

Thermodynamic Analysis of Processes & Modeling, Life Cycle Assessment


Sector Associated With:


Sectors Interested to Offer Service:


Major Professional Contributions:

Developed processes for the production of Ca-Si Alloys, Fe-Si Alloys from Copper slag and for extraction of metals from ocean nodules.
Developed several thermodynamic models for solidification and metallurgical processes
Managed CSIR-NML as Director from Feb 2010 till date.

Professional Experience:

  • Research Fellow, IISc Bangalore (1984-90).
  • Scientist "C" CSIR-NML (1990-1995).
  • Post Doctoral Fellow, McMaster University, Ontario Canada (1992-1993).
  • Visiting Scientist (University of Leeds, UK; Czech Academy of Sciences).
  • Visiting Scientist on Sabbatical at GE Global R&D (JFWTC) Bengaluru (2009-2010).
  • Director CSIR-NML (Feb 2010 till Date); Director-Tata Sponge Iron Ltd., (2012-14).


Thermodynamics, Kinetics, Life Cycle Assessment


Contact Information


CSIR-National Metallurgical Lab, PO Burma Mines, Jamshedpur - 831 007

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



  • B. Sc. (Engg.)
  • ME, PhD


Awards and Major Professional Recognitions

  • Awarded the Prof. K. P. Abraham & Dr. A. A. Krishnan Gold Medals for highest CGPA and best project in ME, IISc.
  • Conferred the "Young Metallurgist Award" by the Ministry of Steel and Mines in 1990.
  • Selected as Associate of Indian Academy of Sciences in 1992.
  • Conferred the CSIR Young Scientist Award in 1995.
  • Conferred the “Metallurgist of the Year Award” by the Ministry of Steel and Mines in 2005.
  • Materials Research Society of India Medal for 2006.
  • Distinguished Engineer Award of Indian Institute of Engineers; 2011.
  • Received the Vasvik Award for the year 2013.

Link to Website

INAE Section Affiliated To: Section VIII: Mining, Metallurgical, and Materials Engineering

Year of Election to Fellowship: 2010

Year of Birth: 27 June 1960